Sia

September 14, 2008

There’s a lot of music I am discovering that I would like to share with you. Right now I am getting used to WordPress. Lots of reading. And lots of cleaning.

For now, take a listen to one of my favorite artists: Sia. Her album “some people have REAL problems” came out at the beginning of the year. She garnered attention for her (overplayed yet still musically beautiful) song “Breathe Me.” Take a look at her recent videos…

She just performed her third single, “Soon We’ll Be Found,” on David Letterman. It is classic Sia. And very beautiful.

Her second single, “The Girl You Lost to Cocaine.”

Her first single, “Day Too Soon.” The acoustic version is too good to ignore honestly.

¬†Originally her record company said no to the song “Buttons,” but after it became a viral hit within weeks, it became a hidden track for “some people have REAL problems.” Here she is on Jimmy Kimmel doing it…

Enjoy. And I’ll be back with more.

Welcome.

5 Responses to “Sia”

  1. Ann Carden said

    I heard her for the first time last night on the David Letterman Show and was so struck but her hauntingly beautiful voice! I was up late working on the computer so I was just listening at first. I finally got so intrigued that I had to stop and look at the TV. Kinda wish I hadn’t done that because she’s a bit whacked out visually, which I find distracting. Then again, it was her picture on your blog that caught my attention and made me want to read on to see if it was the same person.

  2. Ann Carden said

    Oops! Typo! I was struck BY her voice, not BUT!

  3. pete4ya said

    Yeah. People are usually overwhelmed with her quirky behavior and Australian humor. In concert, she is even more whacked out, but it is kinda funny because she knows she is so whacked out. She also very, very humble to her fans which adds to the whole “do what you want as long as you release more amazing music and don’t start doing drugs.”

    I’m glad you were able to see her perform because I find her to be one of the most intriguing entertainers to come from Australia. That’s not really saying much though. haha

  4. Kelly said

    I love Sia! My all time favorite song is “Breathe Me” I love her new CD. She is definitely very different, but her voice is so amazing.

    A lot of my friends came to know her from Perez putting her music on his site

  5. pete4ya said

    Yeah Perez actually has some great taste in music I must say.
    I honestly bought her CD when I went to a music store in Philly. Once I heard a snippet of Breathe Me, I knew I had to buy it. I have been such a huge fan ever since. I’ve seen her live like 5 times. And they all have been one of the best performances.

    And her new album is just plain amazing.

Leave a Reply

